rmwtvqn5rzu-jesse-orrico.jpg

I don’t remember much of the actual episodes as I’m going in and out of consciousness when they occur. But the usual memories revolve around the nausea I feel when I wake, and my flimsy body slumped on its side, lying on the floor.

In the days that follow, bruises emerge and I find solace in my battle scars. These marks on my chin, arm and legs are bloody impressive.

Unfortunately, it always turns out that my confidence has taken an even bigger beating. It’s like an old-school PC that has suddenly crashed and now rebooting – my mind feels slow and plain. For weeks afterwards, English feels like a second language. I’m not sure if this is a direct side effect of the epilepsy or if it’s just my self esteem dwindling. Recovery time is critical but I tend to neglect it.

Leave a Reply

